“18”-Happy Birthday, Daddy

germanchocolatecake

Summer breeze, makes me feel fine-Seals and Crofts “Summer Breeze

Thursday June 9, 2016 7:08 am
Thousand Oaks, California

For as long as I can remember, I’ve woken up June 9th and my very first thought has always been “Today is Daddy’s birthday”.

I’m 52 years old and my dad died a long, long time ago; when I was just 17 and he was only 39 so I doubt that will ever change. This is on my Top Five Things I Am Finest About In My Life.

Today’s “18” are some of the things my dad gave to me that made me, his oldest daughter, into the woman I became after he went away. They’re the things I hope to have given to my children, his grandchildren, as well.

My dad’s legacy is his forever gift to me.

Keeping that alive is mine to him.

Happy Birthday, daddy.

  1. A value system, moral code and ethics based on being honest, responsible and respectful
  2. My sense of humor
  3. My intellect
  4.  And valuing it
  5. Tenacity, Strength, Fortitude And Never Let Them See You Sweat
  6. My Leadership Skills
  7. Loyalty. Till the wheels fall off.
  8. A little bit of great is better than a lot of not so great
  9. My sense of adventure
  10. Never settle for second best. In anything. For anything. Ever.
  11. The Fine Art of being A Unapologetic High/Over Achiever
  12. Work as hard as you play. In that order.
  13. Hang In There, Baby.
  14. Family First
  15. Love Big,  Love Hard.
  16. Sympathy is between “Shit” and “Syphilis” in the Dictionary (but not in real life)
  17. Actions speak louder than Words
  18. Never put off today what you can do five minutes ago (see #11)
2 thoughts on ““18”-Happy Birthday, Daddy

Leave a Reply

