Vote It Like You Live It

votebuttons
“Politics is how you live your life, not whom you vote for”- Jerry Rubin
Tuesday June 7, 2016  4:50 am
Thousand Oaks, California

I, along with The Dude and my fellow Californians, will go to the polls today and vote in our primary.

I will vote the way I have voted for the last 35 years; responsibly and  informed, choosing leaders in which I have confidence will carry America forward with experience, integrity, sound intellect and, perhaps most importantly, great heart.

This is not an easy year to do this.

One of the greatest intellectual minds of our time, Noam Chomsky, had this to say to The Guardian recently when asked how he would cast his vote in this year’s Presidential election:

 “If I were in a swing state, a state that matters, and the choice were Clinton or Trump, I would vote against Trump. And by arithmetic that means hold your nose and vote for Clinton.”

Hold my nose and vote?

Flatter me and call me old-fashioned but…that stinks.

I refuse to hold my nose. Or any other part of my anatomy, even though two of the three candidates sicken me all the way to the gutter they’ve dragged our country to during this Presidential Primary.

When it came down to choosing a candidate, I finally went with a quote I heard a long time ago about politics. Jerry Rubin, an American activist and 1960’s counterculture icon, once said: ““Politics is how you live your life, not whom you vote for”.

My hope is that he said that before he became a successful businessman  in the 1980’s.

Like a lot of the other iconic 1960’s counterculture activists.

So it’s Bernie Sanders for me. (Even though the only thing I think this country will ever allow him to lead is a Passover Seder ). Bernie Sanders’ has his aware, solutions-based feet planted in the present, with an intelligent eye towards the future based on a watchful and learned eye on the past.

The important thing is this: Voting is not only my right and civic duty as an American, it’s also my voice.

Even when nobody’s listening.

Which, I’ve learned in this life I have to make, is sometimes when its most important for me to speak the loudest of all.

Leave a Reply

