Hearing A Peep (A Cautionary Tale)

acautionarytale2

Thursday, May 12, 2016 9:07 am

Thousand Oaks, California

This morning, The Dude and I were lying in bed. Actually, I’d crawled back into bed with The Dude, who sleeps like a normal adult person, as opposed to me and my pre-dawn flight from the sheets.

Because some days, rising peaceful, calm, and anticipating the day to come, at the ass crack of dawn, can be exhausting.

As we were lying there, The Dude whispered to me, “Listen. You can hear the babies”.

Just outside our bedroom window, a mama bird had built a nest for her family in the eaves of our apartment building. And in it were several baby birds peeping noisily.

“Hear them?”, The Dude went on quietly, “I think they cheep like that when they’re hungry. Like, every thirty minutes or so.”

I lay there listening.

I heard them all right.

And, from my M*A*S*H cot, recovering from the Empty Nest battlefield, all I could think to say was: “I feel like I should warn her”.

Leave a Reply

